European Parliament

2014-2019



Plenary sitting

A8-0481/2018

20.12.2018

REPORT

on tax treatment of pension products, including the pan-European Personal Pension Product (2018/2002(INI))

Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

Rapporteur: Sophia in 't Veld

RR\1172903EN.docx PE618.076v02-00

PR_INI

CONTENTS

	Page
MOTION FOR A EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT RESOLUTION	3
INFORMATION ON ADOPTION IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	5
FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	6

MOTION FOR A EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT RESOLUTION

on tax treatment of pension products, including the pan-European Personal Pension Product (2018/2002(INI))

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the Commission proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council on a pan-European Personal Pension Product (PEPP) (COM(2017)0343),
- having regard to the Commission Recommendation on the tax treatment of personal pension products, including the pan-European Personal Pension Product (C(2017)4393),
- having regard to Rule 52 of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the report of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (A8-0481/2018),
- A. whereas the internal market for personal pension products remains highly fragmented, in particular as regards tax reliefs;
- B. whereas the study on the feasibility of a European Personal Pension Framework of June 2017 (FISMA/2015/146(02)/D) demonstrates that fiscal incentives are key to the uptake of the PEPP;
- C. whereas Member States have exclusive competence in the area of direct taxation;
- D. whereas in the internal market all providers and products must be treated equally, regardless of nationality or Member State of origin;
- 1. Calls on the Council, with a view to enhancing the uptake of the PEPP, to elaborate proposals regarding incentives for PEPP savers;
- 2. Suggests that the following approaches be considered:
 - analysing existing tax incentives for personal pension products and assessing their costs, effectiveness and redistributive effects, and, where applicable, addressing inefficiencies and regressive effects;
 - -granting the same tax relief to PEPP as that granted to national personal pension products, even in cases where PEPP features do not fully match all the national criteria;
 - -granting specific tax relief to PEPP, harmonised at Union level, to be laid down in a multilateral tax agreement between Member States;
- 3. Stresses that tax is a Member State competence and that any decision to grant special tax relief to the PEPP therefore remains with each Member State;
- 4. Recalls that Member States have the opportunity to take part in enhanced cooperation;

RR\1172903EN.docx 3/6 PE618.076v02-00

5. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Commission and the Council.

INFORMATION ON ADOPTION IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

Date adopted	3.9.2018
Result of final vote	+: 30 -: 18 0: 1
Members present for the final vote	Gerolf Annemans, Pervenche Berès, Esther de Lange, Jonás Fernández, Giuseppe Ferrandino, Sven Giegold, Roberto Gualtieri, Brian Hayes, Danuta Maria Hübner, Wolf Klinz, Georgios Kyrtsos, Philippe Lamberts, Bernd Lucke, Olle Ludvigsson, Ivana Maletić, Fulvio Martusciello, Gabriel Mato, Alex Mayer, Bernard Monot, Caroline Nagtegaal, Luděk Niedermayer, Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Anne Sander, Alfred Sant, Martin Schirdewan, Pedro Silva Pereira, Paul Tang, Ramon Tremosa i Balcells, Marco Valli, Jakob von Weizsäcker, Marco Zanni
Substitutes present for the final vote	Mady Delvaux, Herbert Dorfmann, Bas Eickhout, Ashley Fox, Sophia in 't Veld, Paloma López Bermejo, Thomas Mann, Michel Reimon, Romana Tomc, Lieve Wierinck
Substitutes under Rule 200(2) present for the final vote	Amjad Bashir, Christophe Hansen, Dietmar Köster, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Csaba Sógor, Helga Stevens, Sabine Verheyen, Kristina Winberg

FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL IN COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

30	+
ALDE	Wolf Klinz, Ramon Tremosa i Balcells, Lieve Wierinck, Sophia in 't Veld
PPE	Herbert Dorfmann, Christophe Hansen, Brian Hayes, Danuta Maria Hübner, Georgios Kyrtsos, Ivana Maletić, Thomas Mann, Fulvio Martusciello, Gabriel Mato, Luděk Niedermayer, Anne Sander, Csaba Sógor, Romana Tomc, Sabine Verheyen
S&D	Pervenche Berès, Mady Delvaux, Jonás Fernández, Giuseppe Ferrandino, Roberto Gualtieri, Dietmar Köster, Olle Ludvigsson, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Alex Mayer, Alfred Sant, Pedro Silva Pereira, Jakob von Weizsäcker

18	-
ALDE	Caroline Nagtegaal
ECR	Amjad Bashir, Ashley Fox, Bernd Lucke, Helga Stevens, Kristina Winberg
EFDD	Bernard Monot, Marco Valli
ENF	Gerolf Annemans, Marco Zanni
GUE/NGL	Paloma López Bermejo, Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Martin Schirdewan
PPE	Esther de Lange
VERTS/ALE	Bas Eickhout, Sven Giegold, Jean Lambert, Michel Reimon

1	0
S&D	Paul Tang

Key to symbols: + : in favour - : against 0 : abstention

